Buncombe County Tourism Development Authority Board

Buncombe County TDA Overview

As a public authority with a vital public purpose, the members of the Buncombe County Tourism Development Authority carry on a long and proud legacy that started in 1983 and has inspired economic growth in Asheville, Buncombe County, and Western North Carolina for nearly 40 years.

The 11 volunteers who serve as members of the BCTDA board are appointed according to legislated criteria to provide professional expertise that ensures effective use of the occupancy tax for the people who live here.

  • Four members are appointed by Asheville City Council, four by the Buncombe County Commission, and one by the Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce.
  • Six represent accommodations that collect the tax and three are from non-lodging, tourism-related businesses.
  • One Buncombe County Commissioner and one City Council Member serve as non-voting, ex-officio board members.

The members of the BCTDA oversee the work of the Explore Asheville Convention & Visitors Bureau to execute an extensive promotional program designed to attract visitors to Buncombe County. The Buncombe County TDA and Explore Asheville also manage the Tourism Product Development Fund, which provides grants to community projects.

Meet the Members of the BCTDA Board

Kathleen Mosher, Board Chair
Chamber Appointed

Brenda Durden, Vice Chair
Asheville Hotel Group
County Appointed

Matthew Lehman, Treasurer of the Nonprofit
The Grand Bohemian Asheville
City Appointed

Leah Wong Ashburn
Highland Brewing Company
County Appointed

Andrew Celwyn
City Appointed

Larry Crosby
The Foundry Hotel
City Appointed

Michael Lusick
FIRC Group, Inc.
City Appointed

Gary Froeba

HP Patel
BCA Hotels
County Appointed

Scott Patel
Pure Hospitality
County Appointed

Sandra Kilgore - BCTDA Board Member

Councilmember Sandra Kilgore
Asheville City Council
Ex-Officio Member

Robert Pressley

Commissioner Robert Pressley
Buncombe County Commission
Ex-Officio Member