

Tourism Management & Investment Plan To Develop Community Assets: Community Leadership Council

The Community Leadership Council will help guide the Tourism Management & Investment Plan to Develop Community Assets (TMIP) by providing community perspective and feedback throughout the process.

The TMIP process will result in a plan that will serve as a guide for future investment decisions and a framework that provides a reference for development planning and decision making. The intention is to have a broader understanding and more synergistic approach to utilizing the Tourism Product Development Fund in a manner that will foster the present and future improvement needs of the community while developing assets that attract visitors to the community in adherence to the enabling legislation that created the Fund.

The Community Leadership Council is a volunteer committee that will support the work of creating the TMIP. The CLC will review progress during several phases, share feedback and perspectives from the broader community, and will serve as a sounding board throughout the process. The CLC will help facilitate connections between the project team and the community.

CLC meetings are open to the public and additional invited guests will include the staff and leadership of public entities who will also be collaborators for project development. A minimum of four meetings are planned between April 2019 and April 2020.

Invited Community Leadership Council

Name	Role	Organization
Dennis King	President	AB Tech
Liz Button	Chair	AIR
Jane Anderson	Executive Director	AIR
Gar Ragland	Chair	Asheville Area Arts Council
Janelle Wienke	Interim Executive Director	Asheville Area Arts Council
Lew Bleiweis	Executive Director	Asheville Area Regional Airport
Carleton Collins	Chair	Asheville Area Riverfront Redevelopment Commission
Demp Bradford	Executive Director	Asheville Buncombe Regional Sports Commission
Chris Smith	Chair	Asheville Buncombe Regional Sports Commission
Kit Cramer	President & CEO	Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce
Toby Weas	Chair	Asheville Downtown Association
Meghan Rogers	Executive Director	Asheville Downtown Association
Sage Turner	Chair	Asheville Downtown Commission
Franzi Charen	Director	Asheville Grown Business Alliance
Gene Bell	CEO	Asheville Housing Authority
Ron Storto	Chair	Asheville Lodging Association
Jack Thomson	Executive Director	Preservation Society of Asheville and Buncombe County
J.D. Lee	Superintendent	Blue Ridge Parkway
TBD		Brewers Alliance
Brownie Newman	Chair, County Commission	Buncombe County
Esther Manheimer	Mayor	City of Asheville
Barber Melton		City of Asheville Neighborhood Advisory Council
John Kempsky	Treasurer	Downtown Asheville Residential Neighbors
Clark Duncan	Executive Director	Economic Development Coalition Asheville-Buncombe County
Jackson Tierney	President	Homestay Coalition
David West / Mike Butram	Executive Officer	Land of Sky Association of Realtors
Mike Dempsey	Dean and Director	Lenoir-Rhyne University Asheville
Scott Dedman	President & CEO	Mountain Housing Opportunities
 B		Multimodal Transportation
Rich Lee	Chair	Commission
Karen Ramshaw	Vice President	Public Interest Projects
Andrew Fletcher	Chair	Public Space Management Committee of the Downtown Commission
Dave Nutter		Urban Planning Professional

Name	Role	Organization
		South Slope Neighborhood
Ashleigh Hardes	Past President	Association
Don Collins	Mayor	Town of Black Mountain
Al Root	Mayor	Town of Weaverville
Jerry VeHaun	Mayor	Town of Woodfin
Nancy Cable	Chancellor	UNC Asheville
Kevan Frazer	Executive Director	Western Carolina University Programs in Asheville
Anthony Thomas	Board Chair	YMI Cultural Center
Dewana Little	Executive Director	YMI Cultural Center
Sekou Coleman	Program Manager	Southside Rising
DeWayne Barton		African American Heritage Commission
Public Partner Collaborators		
Janet Cone	Athletic Director	UNC Asheville
John Pierce	Chief Operating Officer	UNC Asheville
Avril Pinder	County Manager	Buncombe County
Debra Campbell	City Manager	City of Asheville
Josh Harrold	Town Manager	Town of Black Mountain
Selena Coffey	Town Manager	Town of Weaverville
Jason Young	Town Manager	Town of Woodfin
Regional Information Resources		
Justin Hembree	Executive Director	Lank of Sky Regional Council
Nathan Ramsey	Director	Mountain Area Workforce Development Board